
 

Permanent Anti-Harassment Order 

Nature of Proceeding 

Civil, under RCW 10.14 

Who may obtain order? 

Petitioner who has been seriously alarmed, annoyed or harassed by conduct of another person 

which serves no legitimate or lawful purpose. Parties generally are not married, have not lived 
together, and have no children in common. 

Jurisdiction 

District Court. limited provisions for referring cases to Superior Court. Municipal, district, or 

Superior for enforcement. 

Cost to petitioner 

Reduced filing fee waived if indigent. Service fee waived if indigent. Court provides forms. 

How does the respondent receive notice? 

Notice served on respondent. 

Respondent Consequences if order is knowingly violated 

Gross Misdemeanor. Possible criminal charges or contempt. 

Maximum duration of order 

 PAHO--1 year or permanent. 
 EAHO--14 days.  

Adapted from the Domestic Violence Manual For Judges, Volume 1 - Criminal, 1992. The 

Criminal Domestic Violence Manual Subcommittee, prepared by the Office of the Administrator 
for the courts for the State of Washington, Olympia, WA, updated 1998. 

Washington State Coalition Against Domestic Violence 1402 3rd Avenue, STE 406, Seattle, WA 
98101 

 Washington State Court Domestic Violence resources 

 

http://kentwa6.visioninternet.net/?splash=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.leg.wa.gov%2fwslrcw%2fRCW%2520%252010%2520%2520TITLE%2fRCW%2520%252010%2520.%252014%2520%2520CHAPTER%2fRCW%2520%252010%2520.%252014%2520%2520chapter.htm&____isexternal=true
http://kentwa6.visioninternet.net/?splash=http%3a%2f%2fwww.courts.wa.gov%2fdv%2f&____isexternal=true

